Beginnings

The glazed, glassy-eyed look, the furrowed brow and the deer in the headlights look have all passed across my face in the last three weeks. In fact they have probably been more prevalent than a look of understanding and/or satisfaction. It is to be expected but I can’t say I like it.

It does however, do me good to experience what some call ‘the beginner’s mind’. We can certainly get too stuck in our ways, sit in the status quo and float along in life comfortable in our lifestyle not affecting change and not participating in it. The greatest growth is often said to come from the times of greatest discomfort. I guess I’m doing a heck of a lot of growing at the moment!

I don’t believe that this means we all have to uproot our lives, move states and start a new job every time we need to grow. A dear friend of mine, once told me that we have to pray to be disturbed. Speaking from experience that works too! Aside from both those things, it is often the perspective we take. What if we looked at a situation with new eyes; in the way a beginner might learn new ways, look at new perspectives and question possibilities, or perhaps the way a child might view things with fascination, wonder and curiosity, or perhaps the way in which a tourist in a new city would view their surroundings. There is much to learn from these.

These past few weeks much of what I’ve done and experienced has been described above. Everything is new, not much is familiar and that has been deeply challenging, especially for someone who is more comfortable with routine and familiarity. However through the disturbance I am learning. Aside from the obvious learning that comes from a new job, I am learning that beauty is found in unexpected places, comfort can be found in the same practices but in different places and spaces and that encounters with others will bring much joy and can be deeply moving.

I’ve found beauty in:

  • nature finding a way to grow in places that don’t seem right (brick walls and country roads)
  • old buildings that have been given a new lease of life
  • lookouts around sneaky tight bends
  • the ocean at sunrise
  • and standing at the most easterly point on Australia’s mainland.

I’ve found comfort in:

  • afternoon walks
  • photographing flowers
  • and going to Mass.

I’ve found joyful and deeply moving encounters in:

  • long car rides
  • conversations with colleagues as we’ve shared stories
  • and meeting up with old friends.

What are you beginning this week or what could you look at with a beginner’s mind?

Have a great week.

C xo

Leave a comment